Skip Navigation
Oklahoma State University
OSU Research

Office of the Vice President for Research

Research Administration

Dr. Kenneth SewellKenneth W. Sewell, Vice President for Research

Kenneth Sewell is the current vice president for research at Oklahoma State University, a position he began in June of 2015. In this role, he oversees the policies, offices, and service units that support and promote research, scholarship, and creative artistry at OSU. As a member of OSU’s senior leadership team, Dr. Sewell actively engages with the president, provost, other vice presidents, and deans to ensure that research is supported, promoted, and integrated throughout the entire mission of the institution. In the context of public higher education, Dr. Sewell views research as the engine that drives all persons engaged in and with it—whether they are faculty researchers, students, community participants/partners, or societal consumers—to the vanguard of change, transformation, and progress. With this guiding philosophy, Dr. Sewell conceptualizes research as a vital catalyst: what faculty and students do today that was not yet conceived (let alone printed in a textbook) yesterday.

Coming from the faculty ranks himself, Dr. Sewell is a staunch advocate for faculty researchers and the transforming power that research experiences can have on students. A clinical psychologist by training, Dr. Sewell has always embraced a scientist-practitioner framework that blends hard-nosed behavioral science research alongside professional competencies in the assessment, prevention, and treatment of psychopathology. He had many years of academic research, teaching, professional training/mentoring, and administrative experience before his move into central administrative roles. His research as a clinical psychologist has focused on posttraumatic stress, bereavement, and a variety of forensic psychology topics such as competency to stand trial, malingering, and factors affecting comprehension of Miranda rights. Dr. Sewell has published more than 100 peer-reviewed articles and book chapters, in addition to several edited books, psychological tests, and test manuals. He served as director of the nationally-accredited doctoral program in clinical psychology at the University of North Texas (UNT) for more than a decade.

Dr. Sewell received his B.S. from Kansas State University. He then received his M.A. and Ph.D. from the University of Kansas. Following a clinical internship with the Department of Veterans Affairs, Dr. Sewell joined UNT’s Department of Psychology faculty in 1991. In 2008, he entered central research leadership full time, first as associate vice president for research and then as interim vice president for research at UNT before joining the University of New Orleans. At UNO, he served as the vice president for research and economic development as well as the executive director of the Graduate School. In 2015, Dr. Sewell joined the OSU team and moved from New Orleans to Stillwater with his wife, Beth, where they now make their home.


Ron Van Den BusscheRonald Van Den Bussche, Associate Vice President for Research

Dr. Van Den Bussche serves as the associate vice president for research. Prior to this he served as the associate dean for research in the College of Arts & Sciences at Oklahoma State University. A Regents Professor of Zoology and former interim head of the Department of Zoology, Dr. Van Den Bussche earned his Ph.D. in zoology from Texas Tech University followed by postdoctoral positions at the University of Idaho and Texas Tech. He was awarded a Fulbright Senior Specialist Fellowship in 2005 to study at the Museum and Institute of Zoology at the Polish Academy of Sciences in Warsaw, Poland. Dr. Van Den Bussche received the College of Arts & Sciences Outstanding Professor Award in 1999.



Toni ShakleeToni S. Shaklee, Assistant Vice President for Sponsored Research

Dr. Shaklee is responsible for policy development and implementation, pre-award activities, post-award nonfinancial activities, review and approval for sponsored project proposals and awards, and oversight for the Henry Bellmon Research Center. She also serves as the university’s facility security officerPreviously, Dr. Shaklee worked as the assistant director of research for the OSU College of Arts & Sciences Research Support Services. She also worked as a staff scientist for Science Applications International Corporation in Columbus, Ohio, and as the publications editor for the OSU Division of Agriculture. Dr. Shaklee earned her Ph.D. in environmental science from OSU. She is a certified pre-award research administrator and a certified research administrator.



Dr. Dawn UnderwoodDawn Underwood, Assistant Vice President for Research Compliance

Dr. Dawn Underwood earned her Ph.D. in Higher Education Administration from Indiana State University. She attended Ball State University in Indiana where she earned master’s and bachelor’s degrees. In 2017, Underwood was granted a fellowship award from the National Council for University Research Administration to travel to Hungary and learn about grants and compliance in the European Union. She is a member of the Association for Research Integrity Officers, and previously served as an advisory board member to the Grants Resource Center of the American Association of State Colleges and Universities



Dana Brunson, Assistant Vice President for Research CyberinfrastructureDr. Dana Brunson

Dr. Dana Brunson serves as assistant vice president for research cyberinfrastructure and director of the Oklahoma State University High Performance Computing Center (OSUHPCC). She is also Adjunct Associate Professor in the Department of Mathematics and in the Department of Computer Science, and co-leads the OneOklahoma Cyberinfrastructure Initiative (OneOCII). She earned her Ph.D. in Mathematics at the University of Texas at Austin in 2005 and her M.S. and B.S. in Mathematics from OSU.