Skip Navigation
Oklahoma State University
University Research Services

Office of the Vice President for Research

Export Control Regulations

 There are three primary administrative branches of the government charged with implementation and enforcement of export regulations. Each department has a primary area of responsibility and specific regulations. However, there are times when the regulations overlap and jurisdiction may be shared.

The offices are:

U.S. Department of Commerce

  • U.S. Bureau of Industry and Security (BIS) administers the Export Administration Regulations (EAR) - 15 CFR §§ 730-774

U.S. Department of State

  • Directorate of Defense Trade Controls (DDTC) administers the International Traffic in Arms Regulations (ITAR) - 22 CFR §§ 120-130

U.S. Department of the Treasury

  • Office of Foreign Assets Control (OFAC) - 31 CFA §§ 500-599