Skip to main content

Vice President for Research

Open Main MenuClose Main Menu

laser safety office


Oklahoma State University’s Laser Safety Program adheres to appropriate ANSI standards with regard to Class 3B and Class 4 laser use on campus. The goal of the program is to ensure the safety of our faculty, staff, and students, as well as the general public.The program is overseen by the Radiation Safety Office, and Radiation Safety personnel work with laser users to accomplish this.


The faculty driven Laser Safety Committee is chaired by Dr. Al Rosenberger of the Department of Physics. The Vice Chair is Weili Zhang of the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department.


OSU policy requires faculty, staff, students, post docs, visiting scientists, or other personnel planning to use Class 3B and/or Class 4 lasers to obtain prior approval from OSU’s Radiation Safety Officer. Training and laboratory inspections are prerequisites to this approval. Laboratory inspections are conducted by OSU’s Radiation Safety Officer.

Back To Top
SVG directory not found.